Is Flood My Favorite Producer Ever? And Other Barely Connected Rantings.

I never really thought about it before, but it could very well be the case. Let’s examine: some of the finest records by Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds, New Order, Erasure, Depeche Mode, U2, Nine Inch Nails, The Jesus & Mary Chain, (the real) Smashing Pumpkins… I never realized how many records of his I have until I looked at this.

Thankfully, his nickname wasn’t given to him because he creates a sonic flood or anything as pretentious. The guy just really, really likes tea. And yes, he’s British, but I digress, of course.

In other music news: you may notice from my twitter (who am I kidding, of course you didn’t) that I have recently watched 2 different music documentaries that discussed hitting a slab of pork in the recording studio. The first was the DVD portion of the re-issue of Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds’ From Her To Eternity. Apparently the first time Cave met his eventual bandmate, Blixa Bargeld was in the studio with his band Einstürzende Neubauten where they hapened to be recording the sounds of them alternately hitting a side of pork and each other. Crazy Germans- or so I thought. [coincidental note: Flood produced a few tracks on From Her To Eternity according to the DVD, though it’s not listed in his Allmusic credits.]

I started out the 4th of July as any unrepentant record nerd should want, with a viewing of Scott Walker: 30 Century Man. Most people don’t recognize the name, but most people have heard his songs (his older ones at least), thanks to people like Wes Anderson. Walker is truly fascinating and mysterious as both a musician and a personality. I like to think of him as a cross between Nick Cave, Frank Sinatra, and John Zorn. Admittedly, he’s a hard musician to sum up in anything less than a volume. The documentary itself (which includes segments on the recording of his most recent record, in which the second pork-smacking-for-the-sake-of-music of my week occurred), is fantastic. Highly recommended for even the most casual fan of music, or cool shit in general. Check out the trailer here, and click here for one of may favorite classic-period Scott Walker recordings.

1 Comment

Filed under Gig Time, I Am Still Punk, I call them 'records' and not 'cds' because I'm an elitist, Ranting, Run-On Sentences, Uncategorized, Vinyl Snobbery

One response to “Is Flood My Favorite Producer Ever? And Other Barely Connected Rantings.

  1. Woah.
    That track is Neil Diamond on angel dust.

    Gonna have to do some digging on this guy.

Leave a Reply

