A Completely Random Gazpacho Of Ideas Sloshing Around In My Brain

First, let us ponder the following questions:

  • Can you name a Woodstock-era hippie that hasn’t sold out? Of course you cant. Example: Santana DVX Wine.
  • Why do you still hate me, Pandora Internet Radio? I’ve all but given up on you after the 2 Radiohead songs-into-Pink Floyd fiasco the other night. It’s like you’re trying to get me to blog about how much I hate the music you say I should like. I’ve cracked the theory and discovered my problem with Pandora- I’m too informed about music. I know what I like, and what is more, I know what I don’t like. The odds that Pandora is going to introduce me to something new are incredibly slim.

Reading List
Here’s a visual representation of my recent (mostly concurrent) reading list.

From top to bottom:

  • The Garden Of Eden, by Ernest Hemingway- This is mainly what I’ve been speeding through. Summer puts me in a Hemingway mood, so I picked up the 2 books I could find of his that I hadn’t read last time I was at the bookstore. I’m generally more into the “Drunken Manly Adventure” side of his writing, so this one isn’t one of my favorites, but I could read instructions on watching paint dry if Papa wrote them.
  • Keep Your Eyes Open, by Glen E. Friedman- KYEO is a collection of GEF’s favorite Fugazi photos. Two of the greatest in their respective fields.
  • The Dangerous Summer, by Ernest Hemingway- The other one I hadn’t read. This one should be adventurous.
  • Team Of Rivals, by Doris Kearns Goodwin- Yes, still. This is a long, complex, analytical book. I had to take an intermission halfway through (at about 400 pages). I just realized I’ve got an urge to continue on with it though.
  • Grand Royal Magazine Issue 4– Moog Special Issue with a killer history of adidas and Puma.
  • Grand Royal Magazine Issue 3– Mullets galore, for the first time in recorded history.


Records

  • The First Born Is Dead (Remastered Edition): Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds. Historically, this was never one of my favorite Bad Seeds records. I don’t know if it’s the re-mastering or what, but I can’t stop thinking about it. American blues interpreted by evil, drugged out Australians, a Mancunian and a Berliner. Also adding to my “Bob Dylan is Better When He’s Not Singing His Songs” theory is their version of Wanted Man. Ridiculously great, simple songwriting. Check the song and video here.
  • Scott 2: Scott Walker. My favorite SW record. I won’t bore you with the details, but I just got it on 180-gram wax and it sounds great(er). I’ve been singing along like a fool to Jackie non-stop.
  • The Eternal: Sonic Youth. I love SY, and this is another great album. Kinda like a cross between their last 2. More noise freak-outs than Rather Ripped. Cool cover art. Matador rules, even if UPS lost my package.
  • #1 Record: Big Star. Big Star can (could?) give Cheap Trick a run for their money any day. [Show of hands- who thought the That 70’s Show theme song was Cheap Trick? Wrong- the main part is In The Street, off #1 Record.] However, Cheap Trick, as amazing as they are could never produce a song as beautiful as Thirteen.
Leave a comment

Filed under Bookish, Empty Promises/Threats, I call them 'records' and not 'cds' because I'm an elitist, Photos, Ranting, Vinyl Snobbery, Waste

Leave a Reply

